Album review: Pusha T – My Name Is My Name

October 8th will bring the release of Pusha T‘s (one half of hip hop duo Clipse) debut solo album My Name is My Name, released on GOOD Music (home of King Yeezy himself) and Def Jam Recordings. While the majority of the tracks on My Name is My Name were produced by Kanye West, producers such as Hudson Mohawke and Swizz Beatz added their signature sounds on a number of tracks. Nevertheless, the album does possess an undeniably classic Kanye West sound – not necessarily in a bad way, but at times I did forget I was listening to Pusha T and not West himself. Unsurprisingly the album has a plethora of Pusha T’s more commercial counterparts providing collaborations, with artists such as Chris Brown, Kendrick Lamar and 2 Chainz featuring on the promotional singles.

That said, My Name is My Name is still rife with Pusha’s unique sound and strong narrative ethic. A particular favourite track is Numbers On The Boards, with its jarring beat and fuzzy sub-bass perfectly complementing Pusha’s anecdotal rap. Another standout is Let Me Love You (ft. Kelly Rowland) – Pusha raps lazily over a sparse, slow-moving beat, while Rowland’s catchy vocal hook is reminiscent of late 90s RnB. Even Sweet Serenade (ft. Chris Brown) sounds good with Pusha T hurling his smooth pearls of wisdom over the most boring beat and hook ever (think Gucci Mane in Trap House but even lamer).

Overall My Name Is My Name deserves a wholesome 4 stars. I enjoyed it, despite being somewhat repelled by the overwhelming omnipresence of Kanye West on the album. Although not officially released until October 8, the great folks at Myspace have made the entire album available for streaming here.

Leave a comment

Filed under Album reviews

Leave a Reply

